Jandirk Hoekstra (1953), Landscape architect, studied Landscape architecture at Wageningen University and Composition at the Rotterdam Conservatory.
He was active in the cultural sector as a programme maker for music events, theatre and cultural debate in Rotterdam. He worked at dS+V Rotterdam and as senior advisor and division leader at Heidemij Advies/ Arcadis. Currently he is director at H+N+S Landscape architects.

Jandirk Hoekstra was project leader at the cultural event Rotterdam 2045, the first edition of the New Map of the Netherlands and the Buiten Bouwen event of the Council for Housing, Spatial Planning and the Environment.
Together with Bert van Meggelen he was responsible for the concept and programme of the Garden and Landscape Architecture Triennale in Apeldoorn in 2008; a major cultural event on landscape, public space and garden design. Jandirk Hoekstra was the first leader of the Spatial Quality Studio for the province of Overijssel. From 2009 until 2011 he was leader of the ‘Werkplaats’ that developed future prospects for the Dutch delta, commissioned by the Southwest Delta Steering group. From 2011 until mid 2013 he managed the Studio Coastal Quality that focussed on developing concepts for safety and spatial quality for the Dutch coast. As of March 2012 he has been appointed provincial advisor spatial quality for the province of North-Holland.
He presented the ‘Dutch Principles’ and the plans for a sustainable water system for a new town and a big city park for Yangchen in China. He was also part of a team of Dutch experts creating a design for the ‘Density Syndicate’ for Cape Town, South-Africa.
Since April 2015 Hoekstra has been the lead designer of the IABR–Atelier Groningen that examined, within the context of IABR–2016, whether energy transition can yield promising economic and spatial perspectives for the earthquake zone in the Province and the city of Groningen.

Jandirk Hoekstra was guest lecturer at the Landscape architecture department of Wageningen University, ETH Zurich, KU Leuven, Delft University of Technology and the Rotterdam Academy of Architecture.